Seindorf Arian yr Oakeley


Translated as Royal Oakeley Band, Seindorf yr Oakeley was founded in 1864 as a music society by the workers in the slate mining town of Blaenau Ffestiniog in North Wales. During the early 1900s the Royal Oakeley Silver Band was one of Britain’s most successful brass bands as it won the fourth prize at the British Open in 1907 with Wingates as winners and Black Dyke as runners-up.

They have regularly won prestigious prizes at many Brass Band Contests including the Welsh Regional Championships throughout the last 150 years. In the year 2000 they were invited to compete at the National Finals at the Royal Albert Hall in London as Welsh Third Section Champions.

During the last three years they have won three consecutive first prizes at the National Eisteddfod of Wales. They have made many radio and television appearances in Wales and have recorded two CDs. The band has been performing regularly at the Portmeirion Italianate Village during the summer months for over 30 years. Their annual calendar is always packed with various activities, which makes the Oakeley one of the busiest and most popular brass bands in Wales. All members speak Welsh as their first language. 

In 2016 John Glyn Jones celebrated 25 years as their Conductor/MD  and over 50 years in banding! As a graduate of the London College of Music he has worked in North Wales as Peripatetic Brass Tutor for over 30 years. He is also conductor of the Gwynedd and Môn Youth Brass Band who were National Youth Champions of Great Britain in 2001 and 2010.

This is their first appearance at the Nationals since 2005 (also S4). Total of 8 previous Nationals appearances. After qualifying for 1959 S3, had to wait 24 years to qualify for Nationals again (S4 1993). However,  the band then qualified for 6 out of 9 years 1993-2001 - all by winning their Area contest. In fact, only the one Nationals appearance (S3 1959) came about by not winning their previous Area.

Principal Players

Soprano - Ceris Jones

Principal Cornet - Alan Jones

Flugel - Cerys Hughes

Solo Horn - Lowri Thomas-Jones

Solo Trombone - Josh Green

Principal Euphonium - Aled Williams