Jayess Newbiggin


Jayess Newbiggin Brass Band are a 4th Section contesting band based in the North East of England. Named after the great James Shepherd, Jayess Newbiggin were formed in 2009 with the aim of bringing together players from the local and wider community to celebrate the rich musical heritage of the former fishing and mining community.

Jayess Newbiggin are conducted by local lad, Andrew Griffiths. Andrew is a graduate of the University of Salford and during his degree he received tuition from some of the finest names in the brass band word, studying euphonium with Bill Millar and conducting with Dr. Howard Evans and Nigel Weeks. In the final year of his degree, Andrew majored in brass band arranging and conducting, being awarded the Roy Newsome award for the latter. After leaving university, Andrew trained to become a music teacher with a PGCE in Music. He moved back to the North East and in 2011 was delighted to be asked to take over conducting duties at Jayess Newbiggin.

In recent years Jayess Newbiggin have seen tremendous success on the contesting stage after twice being named winners of the Festival of Brass in Durham and North of England Section 4 regional contest. In addition, Jayess Newbiggin were also involved in the Northumberland Miner's Picnic in June along with Bedlington, Ashington and Ellington Brass Bands. An event which saw us take to the stage together in a performance of Lucy Pankhurst's 'Reflection Connection'  at The Sage in Gateshead. In 2016 they achieved a top 10 finish at the National Championships of Great Britain and will once again represent Northumberland in September 2017.

Returning to Cheltenham this year, after appearing at S4 2016 - which was first ever appearance at Nationals. Has won each of last two NoE Areas to qualify for Nationals.

Principal Players

Principal Cornet: Dennis Todd

Soprano Cornet: Anthony Griffiths

Flugel Horn: Rachel Miller

Tenor Horn: Chris Ord

Trombone: Kayleigh Stringer

Euphonium: George Cuthbertson

Baritone: Michelle Stones

Eb Bass: Tony Griffiths

Bb Bass: Heather Turner