Abertillery & District


The Band was formed in 1971 and were successful 8 years later in reaching the National Finals in the Hammersmith Town Hall, in the fourth section. In 1985 they represented Wales for the second time in the National Finals (4th section) and by then had climbed to the 2nd section in Wales.

However this success was short lived and by 2004, the Band had returned to the 4th Section. However, fortunes changed again and by 2011 the Band was promoted to the  Welsh 3rd Division and qualified for the National Finals for the 3rd time.

The Band ended 2011 by being awarded the runners up in the Welsh League 3rd section, one year after it's promotion from the 4th section. This progression has continued under the baton of the present MD, Joshua Ruck, with the band qualifying again in   2015 to attend the National Brass Band Championships and becoming 3rd Section Champions of the South Wales Brass Band area, gaining promotion  to the 2nd Section. The year 2016 saw the band achieve its best contest result ever, achieving 2nd in 2nd Section. And, of course, in 2017 the Band has qualified, once more, for the National Finals in Cheltenham after a successful qualifying competition in Swansea in March 2017.

As well as competitions, the band continues to serve the local community, by participating in local concerts and events and running a training band.

First Nationals appearance since 2015 (Section 4). Total of 4 previous Nationals appearances, all in S4  - so this is first ever appearance in S3. Highest documented Nationals placing is 15th (S4 2015).


Principal Players

Cornet – John Harris

Flugel – Sarah Corcoran-Lockley

Tenor Horn – Tracey Phillips

Baritone – Sarah Jayne Price

Euphonium – John Jones

Trombone –    David Corcoran- Lockley

E Flat Bass - Russell Morris