Worsbrough Brass formed as a training band for young players in 1993, with no band room and a mere £14 in the bank. From such humble beginnings, the band grew; funding was acquired from the National Lottery in 1995, and a permanent home was found in 2000 at Worsbrough Mill, where the band is still based today.

By 2008 the nature of the band had changed; the young beginners had grown up and become able musicians, and the appointment of a new conductor, John Hopkinson, saw the band enter the contesting world for the first time. The band performed creditably at Bolsover Entertainment Contest, and the decision was made to enter the Yorkshire Regional Contest, winning the 4th section in 2010.

Solid results over three years saw the band gain promotion to the 2nd section for 2017, and at the first time of asking the band qualified for the National Finals – the highest achievement in the band’s nine-year contesting history.

First Nationals appearance since 2010 (Section 4), which was their first ever appearance at a National Finals event.


Principal Players

Principal cornet: Martin Ward

Flugel: Kylie Senenko

Solo horn: Ray Speed

Solo Trombone: Jamie Ashton

Solo Euphonium: Joanna Boswell