Bodmin Town


Bodmin Town Band was formed in 1927, celebrating our 90th birthday this year. Contest successes after World War Two saw the band develop its status in the area, these achievements were rewarded by the band being promoted to the Championship Section in 1959, where we remained for over 40 years and have competed at 12 National Finals. As well as being keen to travel across the country for both contests and concerts, the band has always recognised the need to support those closer to home. The band have held the Royal Trophy at the West of England Bandsmen’s Festival, on numerous occasions. Additionally, this prestigious achievement is highlighted further by the band’s amazing record at the South West Brass Band Association Championships held each November, with over twenty victories!

Away from contesting, the band is equally at home playing to audiences throughout Cornwall. The band has appeared at esteemed concerts with artists including Peter Skellern and Cornwall’s own Goff Richards. Recent successes have been under our current Musical Director – Mr John Maines. With a top 6 placing at the 3rd section National Finals in 2013, 2nd section West of England Bandsman’s Festival Champions for the last 4 years and a 4th place at Butlins Mineworkers Contest got 2017 off to a great start before we were crowned champions of the 2nd section at the West of England Regional Championships, securing our place at this year’s Finals, and promotion to the 1st section.

First Nationals appearance since 2013 (Section 3). Total of 12 previous Nationals appearances, including 8 RAH. Highest placing of 4th (S2 1958). After qualifying for Championship Section in 2000, had to wait until 2013 to qualify for Nationals again (S3). After qualifying for S2 1958, had to wait 21 years to qualify for Nationals again (C 1979). Most recent appearance at S2 was 1958.


Principal Players

Principal Cornet – Grace Denford

Soprano – Matt Opie

Flugel – Julie Dobson

Solo Horn – Emma Jackson

Solo Baritone – Katie Wenmouth

Solo Euphonium – Andrew Rowe

Solo Trombone – Kev Moore

Solo EEb Bass – Brita Mark

Solo BBb Bass – Dave Nick

Percussion – Emily Quick