Arbroath Instrumental


The Arbroath Instrumental Band has been in existence since 1893.  The band plays regularly in and around the Angus and Dundee area at concerts.

The Arbroath Instrumental Band now has the biggest membership in its long history with upwards of 35+ members plus a thriving youth band which has an average age of just 12, and which also boasts a membership of over 30 young players.

Several of the youngsters from the band go on to continue their musical education in such impressive establishments as the Royal Academy in London, the Royal Colleges in Manchester and Cardiff and the Scottish Conservatoire in Glasgow. Previous band members now play with the Cory and Grimethorpe bands.

The band has had huge success going from fourth section to second section over the course of four years and being crowned Scottish Second Section champions in 2009 and again in 2017. This will see the band promoted to the First Section in 2018. Over that period the band has had two previous trips to the National Brass Band Championships in Torquay in 2004 and Harrogate in 2009.

First Nationals appearance since 2009 (Section 2). Total of 9 previous Nationals appearances (3 each in S2 S3 S4). Highest documented placing of 5th (S2 2003), although not all results available. Most recent appearance at S2 was 2009.

Principal Players

Principal Cornet – Ann Ness

Flugel Horn – Philippa De Villiers

Principal Horn – Claire McGhee

Solo Euphonium – Marcello Rufo

Principal Trombone- Jordan Robertson

Principal Tuba – Kevin McGhee