Dunaskin Doon


The band was formed in March 1869 as a works band when the iron furnaces at Waterside, East Ayrshire were in full production. Whilst the furnaces having long since fallen silent, Dunaskin Doon Band have not – we proudly continue to entertain local audiences in the form of gala days, concerts, charity events and fund raisers, as well as contesting across Scotland and the UK. The band are looking forward to celebrating 150 years of music-making in 2019.

Following a dip in player numbers in 2012, the band was only just kept alive by a couple of stalwarts, undergoing a relocation to South Ayrshire and a relaunch in 2013. This move proved to be a very successful one, with the band flourishing since. We have risen steadily through the ranks from the Third Section, earning promotion to the Championship Section as of January 2019. This is our third trip to the National Finals since 2014. Recent successes include a win and Most Entertaining Band at the Brass Showcase 2017, a fourth place at the Scottish Challenge Shield in November 2017 and a fantastic second-place at the Scottish Championships in March 2018. Our solo euphonium player was delighted to be awarded the SBBA medal for Best Instrumentalist.

The band are delighted and honoured to be led by talented and inspirational MD Chris Bradley, who is assisted by Resident Conductor Scott Walker. Chris took over as MD in June 2016 and the band have grown immensely under his unique brand of leadership and exquisite musicianship. We look forward to many more successes with the Chris at the helm.

Principal Players

Principal Cornet: Lorna Dunn
Principal Euphonium: Fiona Waddington
Soprano: Lois Kirk
Solo Horn: Emma McTaggart
Principal Trombone: Sharon Turnbull
Flugel: Trevor Gray
Baritone: Frazer Kirk
Eb Bass: Murray Hendrie
Bb Bass: Ross McKnight
Principal Percussionist: Marion Hutchison