Pemberton Old Wigan DW


In 1883 a group of players known as the Blue Jackets Band formed the bulk of the Old Volunteer Corps who were later named The Wigan Rifles. However in 1891 most of the members left the Volunteers and formed the Pemberton Old Band, quickly gaining a formidable reputation all over the country.

In 1995 a neighbouring outfit, the Wigan & District Brass Band, had fallen on hard times and were almost defunct when Pemberton Old took over the running of the band thus adding its hometown of Wigan to its name. The organisation now has three bands, the Senior Band, a ‘B’ Band and a thriving youth band. In August 2003, all three bands attended a newly organised Hymn and March contest sponsored by JJB Sports. After the contest, Mr. David Whelan, Chairman of JJB, said that he would like to sponsor the bands at Pemberton. The band has since had another change of name as Dave Whelan’s new sport and leisure chain, DW Sports, agreed to sponsor the band.

In 2004 under the direction of Mark Peacock the band attended the National Brass Band Championships of Great Britain and were awarded 1st place in the first section. After several years in the Championship section the band qualified for the National Finals at the Royal Albert Hall in 2009 and 2011 under the direction of Mark Bentham. In July of 2016 Ben Dixon was appointed musical director and is working towards bringing through the next generation of the Pemberton Band.

First Nationals appearance since 2011 (Championshp). Total of 14 previous Nationals appearances (including 5 CP). Best result at National Championships was winning S1 2004 - their most recent S1 appearance. After qualifying for CP 1908 (which they withdrew from), they had to wait 67 years for next Nationals appearance (1975). After qualifying for S3 1979, had to wait 16 years for next Nationals appearance (also S3, 1993).


Principal Players

Principal Cornet: Joanne Johnson

Soprano Cornet: Andrew Ashworth

Flugel: Joey Williams

Solo Horn: Grace Jeffers

Solo Euphonium: Nick Giles

Solo Baritone: Kate Holian

Solo Trombone: Ryan Higgin

Solo EEb Bass: Chris Hall

Solo BBb Bass: Andrew Potter