Marsden Silver Prize


A typical village band formed in 1889, rehearsing and playing in contests and the usual social events organised by the local community. Records show that the Band won 1st place at Belle Vue in 1936 and competed in the British Open in the 1930's. After WW2, the Band had to rebuild, playing at local galas and carnivals. Competitively, the Band remained in the lower sections - until the arrival of Alan Widdop in the 1992. Alans success was immediate and over a period of 10 years, moved from the 4th Section to the Championship Section, winning the 3rd Section Yorkshire Area in 1997

Alan continued Conducting the band but in 2004 he resigned the position.

In July 2004, Glyn Williams was engaged as the bands M.D. and had success with a win at the Hardraw Scar Contest. He lead the band to 3 victories at the Brighouse March Contest. With the band’s Principal Cornet, Jason Evans, winning the Cornet prize on no less than 6 occasions.

During this time the band appeared on the ITV Television, Yorkshire Tea advert, which included playing at the England Cricket Test Matches in 2013.

In 2014 saw the departure of Glyn which was followed by a short tenure by John Hinckley.

Unfortunately, in 2016, the band was relegated to the 1st Section.

Alan Widdop was once again approached and he took the opportunity to return and rebuild the band which once again enjoy immediate success, becoming the 2017 Brass at the Guild, 1st Section Champions in January, followed by the Yorkshire Area 1st Section Champions in March.  In June, the band became the Saddleworth, Whit Friday Best Local Band finishing fourth in the overall standings. Most recently Alan lead the band to victory at the Morley March and Hymn Tune Contest Champions.

As a result of Alan's inspiration and leadership, the Marsden Band will be promoted to the Championship Section in 2018.

First Nationals appearance since 2006 (Section 1, their only previous appearance at S1 Finals). Total of 5 previous Nationals appearances, with highest placing of 3rd (S3 1961). Qualified for S2 1964, but then had to wait 27 years to qualify for Nationals again (4 1991).


Principal Players

Principal Cornet: Jason Evans

Sop: Alistair Campbell
Flugel: Anna Ferguson
Solo Horn: Debbie Lea
Solo Euph: Alice Waterhouse
Solo Baritone: David Bracegirdle
Solo Trombone: Dan Eddison

Eb Bass: Matthew Schofield
Bb Bass: Gordon Eddison

Kit Percussion: Dan Jazwinski

Tuned Percussion: David W Ashworth