Kidlington Concert


Banding in Kidlington has a long history, with references in local newspapers going back to at least 1840. Kidlington Concert Brass (initially known as ‘Oxford Kidlington Brass’) was formed in 1992 by the merger of the century-old Kidlington Silver Band with Oxford Concert Brass. Under the baton of Jeremy Wise, the newly-formed band competed in the inaugural First Section Finals of the National Brass Band Championship of Great Britain in 1992, achieving fourth place.

Duncan Wilson, a freelance trombone player, has been the band’s musical director since 2010. Duncan grew up playing in brass bands in Cambridgeshire, for a time was solo trombone with the G.U.S. Band, and has performed as a guest with the Grimethorpe Colliery and Brighouse and Rastrick bands. As musical director he has also taken the helm with Somersham Town Band, Soham Comrades and City of Cambridge Brass Band.

Recent contest success has seen Kidlington win the Leicestershire Brass Band Association Contest in 2015 and 2016, and receive invitations to compete in the British Open Spring Festival and All England International Masters. In 2017 Kidlington were crowned London and Southern Counties 1st Section Champions, which sees them compete at Cheltenham for the second time during Duncan’s directorship (the band achieved 3rd place in 2013). Qualification for the 2017 National Finals coincides with the band’s 25th anniversary celebrations, and provides a fitting tribute to the 125th anniversary of our ancestors Kidlington Silver Band.

Qualified for the Nationals this year, having had to wait 16 years since last Nationals appearance (Champ 2001). Total of 3 Nationals appearances as Kidlington Concert. Band was created from merger between Oxford Concert & Kidlington Silver. Oxford Concert total Nationals appearances 6 (all Championship), Kidlington Silver twice (S2 1989, S3 1984). Highest Nationals placing is 5th (as Kidlington Silver, S3 1984).

Principal Players

Soprano Cornet – Alex Elderfield

Principal Cornet – Thomas James

Flugel Horn – Diane Scott

Solo Horn – Marilyn Elliot

Solo Baritone – Keith Whittingham

Solo Trombone – Nick Abbott

Solo Euphonium – Ben Abbott

Principal Tuba – Áine Jackson