NASUWT Riverside


The band was formed in 1877 in the mining village of Pelton Fell. It has had various names over the years, Pelton Fell Colliery Band, Pelton Fell Workmen’s Band and, Newcastle Brown Ale Band. 

Since 2008 the band has been sponsored by the National Association of Schoolmasters and Union of Women Teachers (NASUWT) and is now known as The NASUWT Riverside Band. In 2010 the band had a specially designed band hall built in the War Memorial Park at Pelton Fell, Chester le Street

Over the last 5 years, the band has been a principal performer at the Durham International Brass Festival including a key role in the internationally renowned Miners Hymns performances in. 2010 and 2014. At this year’s Festival the band will perform Northern Soul music with the band Keep the Faith.

Also over recent years the band has performed regularly at the Sage in Gateshead and has been a major advocate of diverse music for brass band, performing over the last couple of years with British Sea Power and recently with Shri ‘ Just a Vibration’ The band also in 2016 performed for the award-winning contemporary dance show COAL in Newcastle and Durham.

The band is the current North of England Champion band, a title they last won in 2013. and have qualified for the national finals at the Royal Albert Hall 4 times in the last 7 years. At this year’s Grand Shield contest the band was placed 4th.

Nationals Contesting History

First appearance at RAH was in 2005, four appearances in total. Best result of 15th (2013). Previous National Finals: S2 8 times, S3 1968. Has never won a National title.

Principal Players

Principal Cornet - Tina Mortimer

Soprano - Ida Alvilda Larsen

Flugel Horn - Fiona Taylor

Solo Horn - Michael Duncan

Solo Euphonium - Jamie Beeston

Solo Baritone - Joe Ridgeon

Solo Trombone - Malcolm Gill

Bass Trombone - Brian Gibson

Eb Bass - Eric Leckenby

Bb Bass - Jeff Winter         

Percussion - Tracy Conway