City of Bradford


The City of Bradford Brass band was formed in the early twentieth century in Saltaire, having previously been known as the Hammonds Hawley Band and Yorkshire Building Society Concert Brass. It was under this latter title in 2010 that the band was discovered by a young, up-and-coming conductor, Lee Skipsey , formerly principal percussionist at Black Dyke and under his direction and a new name – City of Bradford Brass – the band went on to experience the most successful period in its history.

The four years that followed saw City of Bradford achieve top 3 finishes at four consecutive Regional Contests and perform at the National Championships in Cheltenham three times, taking the Third Section National title in 2011. Having dropped down through the rankings over the years, the band now found themselves back in the First Section. However, it was in 2015 that they achieved their ultimate goal, as they reached the Championship section for the first time in the band’s history.

The organisation has continued to go from strength to strength. In 2013, the band renovated and moved into a new rehearsal space in the centre of Bradford. It was shortly after this that a second band under the City of Bradford umbrella – BD1 Brass – was formed; another group that has experienced great contest success since its inception and was recently crowned Third Section National Champions 2017. Recently a third ensemble in the family - First Blast was formed, taking the number of musicians involved in the City of Bradford organisation to over a hundred.

This year, an incredible third-place finish in the Yorkshire Regional Championships for City of Bradford sees the band represent Yorkshire at the Royal Albert Hall.

Nationals Contesting History

First appearance at RAH. Other National Finals appearance: S1 2014, S2 6 times, S3 four times including 2011 (won), S4 twice including 1977 (won).

Principal Players

Principal Cornet: Dave Karran
Soprano: Dale Garner
Flugel: Sian Karran
Solo Horn: Tim Pool
Baritone: Becky Childs
Trombone: Kyle Reme Blake
Euphonium: Jolyon Stead
Tuba: Sarah Billard
Percussion: John Mallinson