Brighouse & Rastrick


The Brighouse and Rastrick Band is regarded by many as the best and most consistent ‘public subscription band’ in the world. In its time the majority of premier band championships have been held by ‘Briggus’, whilst the band has also attracted a formidable reputation for highly entertaining concerts for both the general public and brass band connoisseur.

The band was formed over 130 years ago through public donations given by the townsfolk of the adjacent villages of Brighouse and Rastrick that face each other across the River Calder in West Yorkshire, England.

Today, it still continues to be supported through public subscriptions and its own fund raising efforts. Its amateur members traditionally pride themselves on being financially independent, never having been beholden to any commercial interest, yet they are still regarded as one of the ‘elite’ on the contest and concert platforms.

Over the course of the band's history, B&R has won 9 National Championships, 3 English Masters, 2 European Championships, 2 Brass in Concert titles and one British Open title. B&R has won more prizes at the Saddleworth Whit Friday march contest than any other band in history and retained the overall Saddleworth Area prize in 2017, winning an unbeatable 6 contests on the way to their second successive title.


Brighouse and Rastrick has been immensely proud to represent England at consecutive European Championships in Lille and Ostend in 2016 and 2017. 


Nationals Contesting History

Won 9 times in 65 outings (9 from 54 RAH, 0 from 11 Crystal Palace). Missed out on hat-trick twice (in 2012 and 1999) by coming 2nd to Foden's both times. Also missed out on hat-trick in 1970, didn't qualify to defend title. 6 podium finishes at RAH in last 7 years. Last won in 2011, last time not here 2009.

Principal Players

Soprano Cornet: Dominic Longhurst

Principal Cornet: Kathleen Gaspoz

Flugel: Mike Eccles

Tenor Horn: Sheona White

Baritone: Ciaran Young

Euphonium: Phillippe Schwartz

Trombone: Ryan Watkins

Bass Trombone: Stephen Lomas

Eb Bass: Steven March

Bb Bass: Stephen Malcolm